"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."

Frequently Asked Questions

I do not own a handgun.

You do not need to.  APEX DEFENSIVE SOLUTIONS can supply firearms to use for training and qualification. 
We will also assist you in selecting a handgun that suits you.

I have never fired a handgun.

Previous experience is not necessary.  You will have access to all the training you need to pass the marksmanship course of the class.

I do not have a FOID.

During the application process you can also apply for your FOID.

Do I have to show a need for a CCW in Illinois?

No.  Illinois is a SHALL ISSUE state, meaning that so long as you meet the legal requirements
you will be granted a CCW.

How much training is involved?

The Statutory recommendation is 16 hours of class room training and live fire qualification with a concealable handgun. Depending upon your knowledge and skill level these amounts may vary.  As long as the student fully grasp the materials.

How much does the license cost?

$150 to the state of Illinois.

How old do I have to be to apply for a CCW.?

21 years old at time of application.

What if I am not approved for a CCW.

You may appeal to the state review board.

Do I have to register my firearm to my CCW.

No, the CCW license is not specific to any handgun.  So long as the handgun meets the legal requirements.

What do I need to bring to class?

If you already have a handgun you are welcome to bring it to the range for qualification but it is not needed for class. Eye and ear protection can be purchased if you do not bring your own. An NRA approved training packet is part of your class fees.

What are the requirements for an Illinois CCW?

(430 ILCS 66/25) Sec. 25. Qualifications for a license. The Department shall issue a license to an applicant completing an application in accordance with Section 30 of this Act if the person: (1) is at least 21 years of age; (2) has a currently valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card and at the time of application meets the requirements for the issuance of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card and is not prohibited under the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act or federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm.
web counter